VidCoder just stops with No Error - Need Help! (long post)

Jun 24, 2013 at 6:17 PM
Edited Jun 24, 2013 at 6:29 PM
Hi everyone,
This is my first post, so go easy on me if I make any mistakes. :) I will apologize up front for the length. I am just not sure what is important for the group to know and what is not, so I am giving you all the detail I can.

I have been using VidCoder for about 1-1/2 years now with virtually no problems whatsoever. I am currently using the latest version (1.4.22) and the .9.9.9 version of HandBrake with the latest nightly build as of yesterday. I really like the program, I use it mostly to encode Cable TV shows via Windows Media Center in the .WTV format to a small screen .MP4 format for viewing. I really like the software and would like to continue using it. However, I have recently ran into problems where VidCoder just stops encoding with no error messages or anything. VidCoder does not crash, it just stops. The progress bar will stop making any "progress". I have given it plenty of time (like even overnight) to make sure it was not just slow, but I would come in the next morning and it would be right at the same percentage of completion that it was when I left it the night before! I tried to "Stop" the particular file it was encoding, but when I attempted to do so, VidCoder would hang and stop responding at that point. The only way to close the program at that point was to use task manager.