Vidcoder is giving scan errors at startup

Mar 19, 2012 at 5:14 PM

Vidcoder is new program for me.  I am not a developer and so my questiion is just as a user.

The scan function when VC starts up has given errors on a number of dvds.

It seems to find the dvd label but the scan errors out.

The dvd drive is an Asus  SATA connect of recent vintage (nearly new.)  Is there a different between IDE and other types of drive connectuions?  The drive functions with prog.s like DVDFab etc.

Coordinator
Mar 19, 2012 at 5:23 PM

You need another program to remove the copy protection from your DVDS:

http://vidcoder.codeplex.com/wikipage?title=Ripping%20DVDs%20or%20Blu-rays

Mar 19, 2012 at 10:48 PM

Ok.

Still experimenting with this.  I saw makemkv as an option.  Used that.  This strange program did it's job and then showed an empty video folder.

In any case I do not know how its output file (if I ever found it) is processed by Vidcoder.  I thought Vidcoder is for making the MKV that, you know, makemkv-- *made*.

also there is something weird on the forum-- no cursor so I know what line I'm on.  :-/

Coordinator
Mar 19, 2012 at 11:08 PM
Edited Mar 19, 2012 at 11:09 PM

MakeMKV takes the raw data streams off of the DVD or Blu-ray and puts it in an MKV container. It's taking the raw data from the disc and putting it on your computer. That's why it's relatively fast. VidCoder compresses the video stream and can process the audio stream.

This has several advantages:

• Smaller file size with comparable quality
  • Can resize the video or do deinterlacing on it
  • Can compress the video and audio in such a way to allow playback on a variety of devices like smartphones
  • Can output to an MP4 container which has better compatibility with devices like smartphones
  • Can change audio volume or codec (compatibility)